AVID’s mission is to close the achievement gap by preparing all students for college readiness and success in a global society.

Advancement Via Individual Determination

California Division


Welcome to the California Division!


View our California Snapshot to see our statewide impact.


Showcases

 

 

AVID Showcases provide an opportunity for educators to see an AVID implementation, share best practices, and learn more about AVID hands-on. The Showcase experience includes AVID Elective and content class observations and a chance to speak with experienced AVID site team members and students.

 

 

If you want to know more about how AVID works for teachers and students to improve school culture and performance or are considering implementing AVID in your school or district, or are a current AVID school and want to gain insight from another AVID implementation, register for an upcoming AVID Showcase.

2017–2018

Date Location School

 

 

 

Oct. 18, 2017
Santa Fe Springs, CA
Santa Fe High School
Nov. 8, 2017 Arvin, CA Sierra Vista Elementary School
Feb. 22, 2018
Whittier, CA
Lydia Jackson Elementary School
Feb. 22, 2018 Tulare, CA Wilson Elementary School
Feb. 28, 2018 Santa Ana, CA Thorpe Fundamental Elementary School
Mar. 14, 2018 Stockton, CA Edison High School

California Division

 

9797 Aero Dr., Suite 100
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 380-4800
Fax: (858) 268-2265

Name Position Phone Email

 

 

 

 

Kenn Young Chief Division Support Officer/Senior Division Director (858) 654-5049 kyoung@avid.org
Gail Shenkman Assistant California Division Director (858) 380-4726 gshenkman@avid.org
Anna Lotti CA State Director (925) 548-7261 alotti@avid.org
Kathy Josephson Assistant State Director (661) 809-2699 kjosephson@avid.org
Timothy Bias Assistant State Director (909) 296-1439
tbias@avid.org
Louisa Urbani Division Liaison
(707) 478-7129 lurbani@avid.org
Shonnel Oson Administrative Assistant II (858) 380-4773 soson@avid.org
Robyn Grand Administrative Assistant II (858) 380-4717 rgrand@avid.org
Areli Dohner-Chavez Program Manager (209) 606-6475 adohner-chavez@avid.org
Carmen Serret-Lopez Program Manager (858) 633-0137 cserretlopez@avid.org
Carrie Barnett Program Manager (858) 633-0138 cshaw@avid.org
Cindy Beardslee Program Manager (858) 380-4809 cbeardslee@avid.org
Hazel Giusto Program Manager (661) 466-7940 hgiusto@avid.org
Lisa Faith Program Manager (505) 238-3136 lfaith@avid.org
Mercy Jesswani Program Manager (510) 219-8344 mjesswani@avid.org
Rachel Quinto Program Manager (559) 260-2598 rquinto@avid.org
Sheryl Peters Program Manager (858) 633-0089 speters@avid.org
Traci Grove Program Manager (858) 380-4714 tgrove@avid.org
Tinisha Hamberlin Program Manager (858) 654-5039 thamberlin@avid.org

California Partner Websites

 

Capital Metro Area: (916) 228-2761, www.scoe.net/avid

RIMS: (909) 386-2632, www.rimsavid.org

LACOE: (562) 922-6554, http://www.lacoe.edu/CurriculumInstruction/AVID.aspx



New Client Form